History of legislative bodies in Kerala-- changing profile
VJT Hall            The Sri Mulam Popular Assembly of  Travancore was conferred the right to elect for members of the upper Legislative Council of  Travancore in 1907. This marked a significant step in increasing the representative character of the Council.

A legislative committee was formed the same year to look into the matrilenial  system of inheritance, Marumakkathayam.

The Council was remodeled in 1919 through a regulation. It broad based the administration and powers of the Council. The strength of the Council was raised to 25, with a bare official majority. The members were given the right to interpellate and discuss the annual budget.

The composition and character of  the Council underwent further changes in October 1921. The total strength was raised to 50. For the first time, elected members got a majority in the House. The official representation came down to 15.

A Deputy President was named to preside over the Council in the absence of the President (Dewan). It was specified that he need not necessarily be an officer.

The members were given right to vote on the Budget subject to certain limitations. They could also move adjournment motions and  resolutions on matters of public interest and ask supplementary questions.
Legislative Council of Travancore
Sixth to Eleventh Councils met from 1904 to 1919.
Members: 15 (6 non-officials)

12th Legislative Council of Travancore (1919-21)

Members            : 25
Non-official seats: 11.
        Elected : 8 out of 11.

13th Legislative Council of Travancore (1922-25)

Members: 50
Elected: 28
Nominated: 22  (including 7 non-official members).

Four Councils between 1922 and 1933 passed 27 Bills.
Previous: Sri Moolam Popular Assembly         Next: Bicameralism  KeralaAssembly.Org